Lotus Galore!

I was in awe at the first sight of this landscape filled with large lotus ponds under the clear blue sky, with lush green mountains highlighting the background. As I walked through the narrow pathways between ponds, I realized the variety of lotuses they had to offer in terms of their size, color and texture. Welcome to the Ten Mile Lotus Field !

What fascinated me the most was, the edibles prepared from different parts of the flower. Creative delicacies including the sweet lotus seed and petal soup, root and stem fry, crisps, dessert and tea graced the table.

Back home in India, a small lotus pond outside a fancy bungalow or a five star hotel is a novelty and I was naturally quite moved by its abundance here in the Zhejiang province of China. Moreover, I had never imagined this flower could be edible! Ever wondered plucking out a gorgeous pink lotus and munching on it?!

 

Author: palavikele

I am a curious traveller and have gathered some fascinating cultural insights, met some interesting people and collected over 200 postcards from across the globe, over the past few years. It finally dawned upon me that it's time I shared these experiences beyond my family and friends. An Intercultural Consultant by profession, my travels are more of cultural tours and learning experiences than mere leisure or business trips. Hope my blog gets you curious about world cultures and in the process helps nudge the travel bug in you. Happy reading!

Leave a comment